9/14/2015

MISSION
  • Practice a) reading for comprehension and b) identifying rhetorical devices
CLASSWORK
  • Take the first exam
  • Read Thomas Paine’s The Crisis (available on the Materials page)
    • Circle new words. Look them up. Write them down in your notebook. Annotate main points in the margin.
    • Identify rhetorical devices. Note them in the margins.
Homework
  1. Write a 2 paragraph rhetorical analysis of The Crisis. For help writing a rhetorical analysis, see the resources on my Materials page. Remember, every analysis needs:
    • The author’s goal / purpose in the speech
    • The rhetorical device(s) you are focusing no
    • The intended effect of the rhetorical device (not the content of what he’s saying, but why he said it the way he did)
    • The actual effect of the device (did it help him achieve his goal or was it ineffective)

2. If you are NOT on the below list, I do not have you in my class for http://www.vocabulary.com. Log into your account and click here to join my American Canon class. Then practice on http://www.vocabulary.com for 10-15 minutes.

NB: I can see how much you play. I have assigned one to two nights of vocab homework. My homework should take about 40 minutes, so you should have played between 40 and 80 minutes. If not, your homework grade will suffer. My homework is directly aligned with my tests, so studying vocab will help boost your test scores too! So far, I have only assigned you to study words from the 6 texts posted. Make sure all those lists are in your account.

American Canon

Thomas, S
Marshall, J
Valiant, J
Brown, K
Holt, J
Keely, Q
Mosley, D
Partee, A
Prince, T
Roberts, J
Wilson, D

