8/28/2015

Homework

Weekend homework is light.

  1. Do the Do-Later. This is the test correction. I goofed. I’m sorry. It’s only six questions.
  2. Read Abigail Adams’s Remember the Ladies; look up words you don’t know; write them down in your word log; and make an objective summary (i.e. who is writing; what is she writing; why is she writing it; what are her points; does she write in any notable style?) Your summary does not need to be longer than 4-6 sentences. (Although if you write more, I will read it all).
  3. Show your parents my website. I’d love for them to keep up with what we do in class (through this blog), help you with mastering content (through the Materials page), and explore the free enrichment opportunities online and in your community (on the Enrichment page).

Get some sleep this weekend. Come back energized and ready to fail again, and fail better. “Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.”

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. (1929 – 1968)

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. (1929 – 1968)

Well, I don’t know what will happen now. We’ve got some difficult days ahead. But it really doesn’t matter with me now, because I’ve been to the mountaintop.

And I don’t mind.

Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!

And so I’m happy, tonight.

I’m not worried about anything.

I’m not fearing any man!

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!

I’ve Been To The Mountaintop (1968), Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

